Three of the positions, #1, #3 and #5, are available for the usual four-year term.  Those terms will begin serving July 1, 2013 and end June 30, 2017.  Position #2 will be a two-year term to complete the unexpired term created with the resignation of Commissioner Joshua Greene.  This position will begin serving July 1, 2013 and end June 30, 2015.

Port of Siuslaw Commissioners are required to be registered voters who are residents of the Port district.  The district covers approximately 700 square miles of the Siuslaw River watershed, including the communities of Florence, Dunes City and Mapleton and extending upriver to Walton, Lorane and Blachly.  The Port of Siuslaw is a special district, authorized in 1909 under Oregon law, ORS Chapter 777.   The Port is the sponsor of the federal maritime investment in Lane County for channel and jetty maintenance, and has authority under Oregon statute for local economic development and infrastructure projects that encourage job creation.


Persons interested in filing to be on the ballot for any of the open Commission seats need to file with Lane County Elections no earlier than February 11, 2013 and no later than March 21, 2013.  The Candidate Manual and forms are available on the Oregon Secretary of State’s website at

Interested candidates file with Lane County Elections by either paying a $10 fee or by circulating a petition to collect signatures and submitting signatures to the County for verification.  The Lane County Election office is open Monday-Friday from 9am-noon and 1pm-4pm.


Questions regarding serving as a Port Commissioner may be directed to the Port office, 100 Harbor Street, Florence, 541-997-3426 or